Seminary Ramblings

Updates from life at seminary

Two awesome looking movies

I dreamed a dream in time gone by
When hope was high
And life worth living
I dreamed that love would never die
I dreamed that God would be forgiving
Then I was young and unafraid
And dreams were made and used and wasted
There was no ransom to be paid
No song unsung, no wine untasted…

I had a dream my life would be
So different from this hell I’m living
So different now from what it seemed
Now life has killed the dream I dreamed.

One good thing about art is its ability to be brutally realistic. It can bring to life and animate our deepest emotions and it can state things that we would be too afraid to utter so nakedly otherwise. Art can act as a powerful conduit to bring out the deepest parts of human experience and it can make searching attempts to state that which is so deep that perhaps it cannot truly be stated.

I just listened to a talk/discussion on the church and the arts, so more thoughts to come on that later. For now however, here are two brand new videos for two films I am very excited about, Les Miserables and The Hobbit. As to the former, I love how they’re doing the music, and I’m afraid that Eponine (Samantha Barks) will steal my heart. As to the latter, I’m very excited that they are including the character Radagast the Brown, though he only receives a passing mention in the book. Enjoy.

The new Hobbit trailer here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

