Seminary Ramblings

Updates from life at seminary

Jesus>Religion

Wow. So I was just about to post a short something about this youtube video that has gone viral in the past few days (about 20 of my friends have posted it as their Facebook statuses), but then I realized that everyone had already chipped in their two cents on it.

For what it’s worth, of the couple of reactions that I read in various places, I think Kevin DeYoung really hit the nail on the head. He recognizes “no one may be talking about [this video] in a month”, but he spends a bunch of time writing about it because it “perfectly captures the mood, and in my mind the confusion, of a lot of earnest, young Christians.” It’s worth reading, not just because the video is receiving a lot of hype, but because I think DeYoung really assesses the mindset of a lot of American Christianity well. It’s an appreciative, but firm critique. If you’ve got the time, check it out.

 

[UPDATE]: Apparently after writing his critique, Kevin and the guy in the video (Jeff Bethke) emailed back and forth a bit and even chatted on the phone. It’s a pretty encouraging read.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Jesus>Religion

  1. Erik! I was actually thinking about posting on my blog about this too, but like you, I felt like so much had already been said on both sides. Thanks for passing along the DeYoung post, really thorough and thoughtful. Looking forward to you getting back up here to New England.

    • Erik L on said:

      Wow! How did I not realize that you had a blog?? (despite the fact that I think we talked about this one time while walking in Gloucester) In any event, I’ll definitely have to add that one to my Reeder feed. And I’m excited to get back up too! I’m slightly envious of everyone currently taking classes/hanging out etc etc etc.

  2. Erik … way to be cliche. But awesomely cliche. 🙂

  3. tinytellis on said:

    this is awesome. at one of our Cru leadership meetings, we talked about the book Peacemakers. have you read it? I haven’t, but I’d like to. in any case, I think this is an awesome look at how solid, humble men of God approach conflict and criticism in a Christ-centered way. I really like Deyoung’s post – especially so after reading a scathing reproach which offered little grace.

Leave a Reply

